

Miltenberg • Germany • 25 - 27. September 2017

Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017

Miltenberg, September 25 - 27, 2017

Call for Papers

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V.

President:
Wolfgang Mathis
Vice-president:
Larissa Vietzorreck
Secretary:
Eckard Bogenfeld

Program Committee:

Chair: Romanus Dyczij-Edlinger

Head of Award Committee: Ludger Klinkenbusch

Commissions: Thorsten Schrader (A) Rolf Schuhmann (B) Jens Anders (C) Dirk Killat (D) Frank Gronwald (E) Madhu Chandra (F) Matthias Förster (G) Gottfried Mann (H) Alexander Kraus (J) Lars Ole Fichte (K) The Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017, organized by the Landesausschuss in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V., will be held September 25 - 27, 2017 in Miltenberg, Germany, at the Ancient Townhall (Altes Rathaus). Conference languages are English and German.

Topics:

The list of topics matches the Commissions of the U.R.S.I.:

- A: Electromagnetic Metrology
- B: Fields and Waves
- C: Radio Communication Systems and Signal Processing
- D: Electronics and Photonics
- E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
- F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
- G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
- H: Waves in Plasmas
- J: Radio Astronomy
- K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

Regular Contributions (Oral):

Authors are asked to submit regular contributions by **July 14, 2017** via https://edas.info/23618. Required fields are: title, author(s), abstract (in English or German; text only; no more than 500 words; no figures, equations, etc.) as well as the Commission connected to the topic of the contribution.

Special Sessions:

The conference will include Special Sessions on **Terahertz-Technology** and **Statistical Methods for EMC**. Authors are asked to submit contributions to these sessions by **July 14, 2017** via https://edas.info/23618. Additional information can be found on the conference website www.kh2017.de.

Young Scientist Awards:

Scientists born 1984 or later are invited to participate at the Young Scientist Award Program of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017. Applications and supporting materials are to be submitted by **June 10, 2017** via https://edas.info/23618, in the corresponding category. Details can be found on page two of this 'Call for Papers.'

Further Information:

Additional information about the conference site, accommodation, the conference program, and registration is given on the conference website www.kh2017.de.

Contact person (on behalf of the URSI Landesausschuss in der BRD):

Romanus Dyczij-Edlinger, Universität des Saarlandes

E-Mail: kh2017@lte.uni-saarland.de

Important Dates:

Until June 10, 2017: Submission of materials for the Young Scientist Award, Until July 14, 2017: Submission of regular contributions and contributions to

Special Sessions,

Until August 31, 2017: Pre-registration at reduced conference fees,

25. - 27. September 2017: Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017.





Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards on the Occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017

As part of our continuing commitment to supporting the next generation of up and coming researchers, we will present up to 15 scholars with the *Young Scientist Award* and three with the *Young Scientist Best Paper Award* during the course of the conference.

The selection of Young Scientist Awards (YSA) recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented works will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a

Prize money in the amount of 300 €.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within the scope of the regular conference program. Moreover, they are invited to present their works at a special YSA Poster Session. At that the posters are going to be assessed and rated by an Award Committee. The top three works will be awarded a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA). In addition to a certificate, the recipients will receive

1000 €	(1 ^{sτ} Prize),
750 €	(2 nd Prize), and
500 €	(3 rd Prize).

All YSA und YS-BPA recipients will be honored at a solemn awards ceremony during the closing event of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2017.

Terms of Eligibility

Scientists born 1984 or later holding a Diploma or Master degree at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, to be written in German or English, are to be submitted via https://edas.info/23618 under the category "Young Scientist Award" by no later than **June 10, 2017**:

- a) Extended Abstract (3 pages; ARS style; template at http://www.advances-in-radio-science.net/for-authors/manuscript-preparation.html),
- b) Supplementary documentation (one pdf file), consisting of
 - Curriculum vitae and
 - One letter of recommendation (1 page maximum) from a scholarly person (e.g., the Ph.D. advisor) or a Member of the URSI Landesausschuss in der BRD.

All applicants will be notified by August 10, 2017.

Inquires are to be directed to the Head of the Award Committee, Prof. Ludger Klinkenbusch, Technische Fakultaet der Universitaet Kiel, Kaiserstr. 2, D-24143 Kiel, Germany, at ysa2017@tf.uni-kiel.de.

